Bridges

Image

We now live quite close to the Old (or Carl Theodor) Bridge in Heidelberg, by, under, and across which I now frequently have cause to go. Following upon a series of earlier wooden bridges at the same crossing point, this stone version was completed in 1788, so despite its name it is relatively young (in stone-bridge years, that is). It affords a beautiful view of the Neckar and the surrounding scenery, and it’s a popular spot for tourists. I ran across it this afternoon at the very end of my run and barely squeezed by a horde of scenery seekers. As in the photo above, I’ve also spent my time as a tourist on the bridge (this taken just yesterday by SC, one of our favourite members of the extended family who visited us for a day on his way to Dubai – we really enjoyed having him). So, I don’t blame the tourists for flocking to the bridge. But I nonetheless, without a doubt, prefer to cross my bridges in the quiet of the early morning (yes, that’s right, it’s time for some metaphor madness).

I feel like I’m crossing a number of bridges these days. With respect to training, I’ve just today finished the eighth week of my original training programme, and so have only two weeks left before I embark upon a new phase, about which I haven’t really spent too much time thinking. For the moment, I’m concentrating on finishing these next two weeks with solid training sessions: after a reduced-volume week, I’m now heading into to the longest cycle and run sessions I’ve done, and I’ll also this week be doing a so-called brick run after my shorter 60 minute cycle (i.e. I’ll double up my short cycle and run into one day). As I’m coming to the end of this block of training, I’m also thinking more about technique. I’m this week going to be doing a run technique analysis with Katja Schumacher, which I’m looking forward to, and I’ll be heading along to her triathlon swim group, coached by Erica Hemmy, to have my freestyle technique evaluated (I’m sure there will be a lot I can change).

It can be a hard thing as one comes up to a major transition in life to stay focused on the task at hand, but also to look forward and plan as needed – when you step off the bridge, you need to know where to go, but you don’t want to fall into the water before getting there due to not looking where you’re going. Nor do you want to reach the other side of the bridge and realize that you’ve planned to go in three directions at once. I’ve been feeling a bit scattered in my work recently – I’ve committed to a lot of different projects and conferences in the next few months, which are interesting but have been dividing my attention. Our world of advanced communication technology (email, phones, website, blogs, Morse code), for all its benefits, has the potential constantly to be dividing our attention – which means, I think, that we need to double our efforts at concentrating on the task at hand. So, I’ve planned for these next weeks a schedule and order for completing my projects at work, one by one, and intend to use the period as a bridge to a world in which I only take on one major project at a time.

I had a complaint today from one of my (few) regular readers that I haven’t been posting enough. My only excuses are that we’ve moved, I’ve been busy with work, and we’ve had guests. But I promise to redouble my efforts and pick up the pace of my posts. NP has in the past few days signaled her agreement to help me complete everything I want to in the next couple of weeks by waking us up at the crack of dawn to increase the number of hours in our day – so I should, in fact, be able to cross a lot of these bridges in the early morning.

About philosophersrun

Not actually a philosopher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

